I might take a long time to finish but I guarantee the quality I put into it.

I make a goal every time I finish writing a story.

And these goals serve as my positive spin on the deadlines I learn to dread in school. Because I pretend these goals were told to me by the characters of my stories. It becomes fun when I feel like I am in a lucid cream of trying to make portraits of my characters while talking to them. I get a deeper understanding as the author of my work when I feel as if the character I wrote about start coming out of me.  It is like a part of me that just happens to escape.

And when laziness and the heat from sun break down my will to finish my work, I turn a cold book or a notebook of quotes I keep. And As I flip the pages through I remember when I wrote/read them with so much creative vigor.

Examples of such quotes are:

If I am anything, which I highly doubt, I have made myself so by hard work.”
-Sir Isaac Newton
 
“I never did a day’s work in my life. It was all fun.”
– Thomas Alva Edison
 

and

“Sir Walter, with his 61 years of life, although he never wrote a novel until he was over 40, had, fortunately for the world, a longer working career than most of his brethren.”
-Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
 

 

By far, it takes me at least a month to fully illustrate a shorty story. It takes me a week to write poems and make an illustration/s for them. But the longest I have ever been working on has been for two years and is still not done. Sometimes when the work feels too half done despite their being an end to it. I take a while to breath in my possible mistakes or failure from it and work on it again, and again, and then again. Until at one point I forget that I have been working for 16 hours straight and then suddenly collapse or faint.

Since I feel it would haunt me in my dreams if I failed to give it the best life I can place upon the work.

 

Sample images of story progress on “the Bluff:”

 

IMG_20140615_040327 IMG_20140615_040527

IMG_20140616_042701

 

Leave a Reply

